Emirates of Ajman

Overview:

Ajman is the smallest of the seven emirates, which constitute the Federation of the United Arab Emirates. It was founded by the Al Nuaim tribe around 1775, and has since played a prominent role through its favourable geographical location. Ajman lies on the coast of the Arabian Gulf, in the northern part of UAE, and is located right in the middle between the emirates of Sharjah and Umm Al Quwain. The Emirate of Ajman also includes two cities: Masfout and Manama, in addition to Ajman City, the capital of the emirate that encompasses the Ruler’s court and all government entities.

 

Traditions and Civilization:  

Ajman combines a deep-rooted heritage spanning many years of the emirate’s history, and a present that strives to achieve the most progressive and modernized development. The emirate prides itself of its cultural heritage and deep-rooted traditions over hundreds of years, enabling it to lay the foundations of success and prosperity in all fields. And indeed the efforts have paid off, thanks to the will of its rulers, Ajman has successfully managed to move forward and lead the evolution and achievements in the modern era. However, at the same time, it maintained the traditional feature and the originality of the deep-rooted past.

 

Hospitality and Tourism:

The community of Ajman today is warm and welcoming as ever. Furthermore, it gives high importance to the culture of hospitality as being a deep-rooted and noble established quality. The emirate has worked to enhance its touristic position, leveraging the magnificent natural landmarks that attract tourists and visitors, and attending to modern facilities and infrastructures.

UAE Local Cuisine 

The local community is well known for delicious dishes, such as harees, machboos, and tharid, as well as desserts such as luqaimat and balaleet, and various types of bread, such as khameer, raqaq, and chebab, all of which feature ingredients that reflect local flavours. The influx of expats has introduced many dishes to the local cuisine, in particular from the Levant and Egypt, such as hummus, fava beans, falafel and others.

UAE Traditional Attire 

The people of Ajman pride themselves on preserving their traditional dress and holding it a great value through which they express their national identity, despite the impact of modern life on various aspects of the daily lifestyle.

The men wear a white Dishdasha or Kandura (loose full-length shirt dress), and have their heads decorated with a white or red checked headdress, known as Ghutrah, which is in turn fixed on the head by a black cord known as an Igal.

As for women, they wear a black cloak (loose full-length robe) that covers their normal clothes, which are traditionally fully-length and fully-sleeved clothes known as Jalabiya, plus a long black scarf covering their hair, known as Sheyla.

 

Economy and Industry:

The Emirate of Ajman has made rapid strides in the process of economic and industrial progress. By supporting and encouraging investors, it managed to be a favourable investment destination in the region. Ajman enacted a number of laws and legislations to open the way, in particular, in front of different economic and industrial activities, as it was, throughout generations, considered one of the biggest manufacturing centre of dhow boats. Moreover, the wise vision of the leadership has produced huge industrial projects, with which the Emirate of Ajman was ranked third in the country, especially in the ready-made garments.

 

Ajman Climate:

The Emirate of Ajman is characterized by a tropical dry desert climate, dominated by the sunny weather all year long. In addition, summer is hot and humid, especially in July and August, when temperatures range between 35 and 42 degrees. On the contrary, winter is closer to the subtropical climate, at moderate temperature ranges from 10 to 30 degrees, making it an ideal destination for enjoying sandy beaches, swimming or fishing, enjoying outdoor evenings, shopping, historic sightseeing, or attending festivals. On top of that, the emirate is rich in several activities, events and facilities that can be enjoyed all year long.

Do you have any comments about this page ?

If you want to contact us click here :

Do you need help ?

Please contact Ajman Govement service on 80070 or email us on digitalajman@Ajman.ae

تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
إمارة عجمان

نبذة عامة عن إمارة عجمان:


هي أصغر الإمارات السبع التي تُشكِّل اتحاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وقد تأسست على يد قبيلة النعيم حوالي عام 1775، ومنذ ذلك الحين وهي تضطلع بدورٍ محوريٍّ بارز من خلال موقعها الجغرافي المتميز؛ حيث تقع ضمن الإمارات الشمالية المُطِلَّة على الخليج العربي، كما تتوسَّط إمارتَي الشارقة وأم القيوين. وتضم الإمارة مدينتَي «مصفوت» و«المنامة»، فضلًا على مدينة عجمان التي تُعَد العاصمة التي يتمركز فيها ديوان الحاكم ومقر الدوائر والمؤسسات الحكومية.


العراقة والحضارة:


تَجمع عجمان بين تُراثٍ عريق يمتد عبر سنوات طويلة من تاريخ الإمارة، وحاضرٍ يسعى لتحقيق أكثر صور التطوُّر نموًّا وحداثة؛ إذ إن الإمارة تفخر بالموروث الثقافي والتقاليد العريقة عبر مئات السنين؛ مما يُؤهِّلها لأن تُرسِي مُقوِّمات النجاح والازدهار في شتى المجالات. وبالفعل نجحتْ في وقتٍ قصير وبفضل إرادة حُكامها في المُضي قُدمًا لتقود رَكْب التطوُّر والإنجازات في العصر الحديث، ولكنها في الوقت ذاته حافظتْ على الطابع التقليدي وأصالة الماضي العريق.


العادات و التقاليد


يُعرف عن أهل عجمان مراعاتهم للعادات والتقاليد الأصيلة المستوحاة من الموروث الثقافي والاجتماعي والديني، وحرصهم على ضمان توريثها للأجيال القادمة، خاصة أصول الضيافة والكرم، والزي الوطني، والأكلات الشعبية، وغيرها من القيم العربية الأصيلة.


اللباس المحلي


يباهي الإماراتيون بالحفاظ على زيهم الشعبي الموروث كابرًا عن كابر، بحيث أصبح رمزًا للفخر بالهوية الوطنية، على الرغم من تأثير الحياة العصرية على مختلف جوانب الحياة إلّا أن التمسك بهذا الرمز الوطني يبقى من المسلمات. يرتدي الرجال ثوبًا فضفاضًا كقميص يصل طوله إلى الكاحل وهو مصنوع من القطن الأبيض ويُعرف بالكندورة أو الدشداشة. ويزين الرأس غطاء من القماش باللون الأبيض والمعروف باسم الغترة، والتي بدورها تثبت على الرأس بحبل أسود مجدول يعرف باسم العُقال.


الضيافة والسياحة:


إنَّ مجتمع عجمان اليوم – كما كان بالأمس – ينبض بالدفء والترحاب، ويُولِي ثقافة إكرام الضيف بالغَ الأهمية كونها صفةً أصيلةً مترسخةً فيه منذ أمدٍ بعيد. وقد عمدت الإمارة إلى تعزيز المكانة السياحية التي تتمتع بها مع ما تزخر به من معالم جمالية طبيعية تجذب السُّياح والزائرين، إضافةً إلى الاهتمام بالمرافق والبِنَى التحتية الحديثة.


الاقتصاد والصناعة:


خَطَتْ إمارة عجمان خُطواتٍ سريعةً في مسيرة التقدُّم الاقتصادي والصناعي، وتمكَّنتْ بفضل دعمها وتشجيعها للمستثمرين من أن تكون قِبلة الاستثمار في المنطقة؛ حيث ساهمتْ بِسَنِّ عدد من القوانين والتشريعات لفتح الباب أمام مُختلِف الأنشطة الاقتصادية والصناعية تحديدًا؛ إذ إنها كانت على مرِّ الأجيال تُعَد من أكبر مراكز صناعة مراكب البوم الشراعية. وقد أثمرت رؤية القيادة الحكيمة عن مشاريع صناعية عملاقة تحتل بها إمارة عجمان المرتبة الثالثة على مستوى الدولة، خصوصًا في مجال صناعة الملابس الجاهزة.


مناخ عجمان:


تتميَّز إمارة عجمان بمُناخ صحراوي مَداري جاف، تغلب عليه الأجواء المُشمِسة طيلة أيام السنة، ويكون فصل الصيف حارًّا ورطبًا خاصةً في شهرَي يوليو وأغسطس، اللذين تتراوح درجات الحرارة فيهما بين 35 درجة و42 درجة. وعلى العكس من ذلك، يكون فصل الشتاء أقرب إلى الأجواء شبه الاستوائية، وبدرجة حرارة معتدلة تتراوح بين 10 درجات و30 درجة؛ فتكون بذلك وجهة مثالية للاستمتاع بالشواطئ الرملية والسباحة، أو صيد الأسماك، أو التمتع بأمسيات الهواء الطلق والتسوق، أو زيارة المعالم التاريخية، أو حضور المهرجانات. كما تزخر الإمارة بالعديد من الأنشطة والفعاليات والمرافق التي يمكن الاستمتاع بها طوال العام.

هل توجد لديك أي ملاحظات عن محتوى هذه الصفحة ؟

إذا كنت ترغب أن تتواصل معنا، أنقر هنا :

تحتاج إلى المساعدة ؟

يرجى التواصل مع مركز اتصال حكومة عجمان على الرقم 80070 أو إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى digitalajman@Ajman.ae